Valentine’s Day Part Deux: Red Velvet Cupcakes

037

I couldn’t get away with doing only one Valentine’s Day recipe! I decided to make cupcakes. And, as Red Velvet is the favorite for V-Day, I went with a Martha recipe, Red Velvet Chocolate Cake.

I lined my cupcake pan with some cute heart paper liners.

0012

I then made the colorful cake batter in my KitchenAid.

053

Then I filled the cupcake tin. Unfortunately, I filled them rather high and didn’t have enough batter for all 12.

0031

They looked beautiful when I took them out!

0111

Next, it was time to make the Sturdy Whipped Cream frosting that I had been wanting to try for quite some time.

023

It was so incredibly tasty. The almond extract really gives it a nice flavor. I used a closed star tip to decorate my cupcakes. The looked so beautiful, and tasted amazing!

029033050041

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Re
    Feb 28, 2009 @ 14:23:26

    YUMMMMMEEEE!

    Reply

  2. The Stef
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 03:42:51

    These cupcakes look awesome 🙂 I am so proud of The Jess’s baking skill…you are awesome! I will try to make these for my hubby b.c we both know how much he loves sweets!

    Reply

  3. Richardpfeiffer
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 23:30:27

    Mail me cupcakes or i am coming down there.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: A Birthday Visit « Shut Up & Bake!

Leave a Reply

