First Experiment: Home-made Girlscout Cookies

A few months ago, I stumbled upon a recipe on bakingbites.com for home-made Girlscout cookies, Samoa’s to be exact (http://bakingbites.com/2008/01/homemade-girl-scout-cookies-samoas). This is what they are supposed to look like.

I will admit, this was a bit of an ambitious first project. I have baked plenty in the past, but, I do not tend to have all of the proper tools needed to create masterpieces. But, I decided to give it a shot. I mixed a batch of dough, rolled it out, and cut out circles with the top of a glass. I put them in the oven… didn’t turn out so great. I couldn’t lift them off with the spatula and they crumbled. It tasted delicious though!

I had some more dough so I tried again. After they were done baking, they were vague circles. So, I took the next step. I put the shredded coconut in the oven to bake, and in the meantime, I melted the caramel in the microwave. Okay.

I started spreading the caramel on the cookies. It didn’t really have a good consistency, and would not spread out. I sprinkled on the coconut and melted chocolate. The results were slightly ridiculous:

VERDICT: DELICIOUS FAILURE

Leave a Reply

